SportyPal 2.2.8 for Android

A new update to SportyPal for Android has been released on the Play Store. Here’s what’s been changed in the new version:

  • Fixed a bug where uploading indoor workouts would upload them with the wrong distance.
  • Removed Pocket Change setting (didn’t work).
  • Additional logging if graph coordinates are not loaded.
  • Will now recognize newer Zephyr HxM devices (though not sure if they’ll work properly).
  • Crash fixes.

You can find SportyPal by searching for it on Google Play, or by scanning the QR code displayed here.

Note that if you are upgrading from a beta version of SportyPal Pro, you must first uninstall the previous version before installing this one.

Explore posts in the same categories: Updates

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on “SportyPal 2.2.8 for Android”

  1. Brian J. Govern Says:

    I think there is a bug with the kcalories burned calculation. I ran/walked 4 miles with my wife on Saturday, and for 200lb me, it said I burned 630 calories. Today I ran 6 miles at over 1.5 MPH faster, and it said I burned 635 kcalories. I’m not sure I could fall 2 miles for only 5 calories! The track I ran today typically requires 1,000 kcalories to run.

    • SportyPal Says:

      The difference in distance should, under normal circumstances, account for a larger change in calorie estimation. Your estimate sounds about right – at 200lb, running an extra 2 miles should burn at least 300 more Calories.

      -Check your weight in SportyPal’s profile settings. If you somehow changed it between runs, this could account for the difference.
      -Were you using a heart rate monitor for any of the runs? Using a heart rate monitor changes the way that SportyPal calculates your calorie burn. Aside from the weight, you need to make sure that the age, VO2max and gender profile settings are set to the correct values.

      • Brian Govern Says:

        That must be it. I broke out my heart monitor for the first time this year yesterday. I’ll have to figure out a better estimate for my V02 Max. Thank you!

      • Brian J. Govern Says:

        I adjusted the Vo2Max up to 50 (which I understand is ‘elite athlete level) from 40 (the default), and using the heart monitor, the total calories for same run went up to 685 today. That is still a far cry from the 900+ that other run calculators tell me it should be. I checked that the weight (202lbs), age (37), and gender (dude) are correct, and the same as before. Any other suggestions on what I might be doing wrong?

      • SportyPal Says:

        From a technical standpoint, everything is working as intended. Looking at your latest workout, the calculation is doing what it’s been programmed to do, which does not necessarily match the estimation made without without a heart rate monitor (which would indeed be something like 900-950 kcal).

        Looking at the values in the workout, our guess is that this is due to your heart rate remaining relatively low for a running activity. If your heart rate were in the 155-160 bpm vicinity, your calorie burn would match your estimation.

  2. David Stokes Says:

    Any chance of including Suunto HR belt compatibility?

  3. Juancar Says:

    Hola

    He observado que la altitud es errónea, unos 40 metros de mas. Sentado en la playa marca 42 metros, y en montaña con indicadores de altitud también marca unos 40 metros de más
    ¿se puede calibrar la altitud?

    ¿sportypal estará disponible en Nokia 520 en el futuro?

    Muchas gracias.

    • SportyPal Says:

      In SportyPal for Android, check out Settings -> Altitude settings. Different options can appear in that screen, depending on your device’s capabilities, but you will always be able to add a flat altitude offset. This feature is currently unavailable on other platforms.

      There are currently no plans to develop a Windows Phone 8 version of SportyPal.


  4. i cannot upload at all today. try to access your sportypal.com, failed too. what is wrong?

  5. mimezzz Says:

    Dear SportyPal Support team,
    time has passed away…why don’t you update your app anymore? I know that currently there are no plans to develop and update SportyPal, but why? Is there any chance or future plans to integrate and connect SportyPal account to site http://www.myfitnesspal.com to track results and improvements?
    Please, I’m only an affectionate user asking to SportyPal team and admins to find an agreement with “myfitnesspal.com” and to connect my SportyPal account with MyFitnessPal: to link automatically all of my fitness activities (using SportyPal, of course!!) to my MyFitnessPal account and to keep an accurate count of my calories burned when I am out doing activities, that would be really great for everyone!
    Please, let me know: I bought two vouchers for SportyPal and I use it a lot.
    I hope you will do this enhancement.
    Sorry for my bad English.
    Best regards.
    Domenico


Leave a Reply

