BlackBerry 8330 Curve

A lot of BlackBerry Curve 8330 users are having problems with SportyPal. It seems that the application records data for a while, and then stops and refuses to change any stats aside from the clock.

This sounds an awful lot like the WM sleep bug, but the 8330 doesn’t seem to have a sleep/suspend mode, and the problem doesn’t seem to be linked to the device’s display.

One 8330 even had his BlackBerry freeze while trying to acquire a GPS signal.

Has anyone found a solution to, or does anyone have any idea of what might be causing this?

Explore posts in the same categories: Bugs, Unresolved

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

13 Comments on “BlackBerry 8330 Curve”

  1. Boris Says:

    Can you guys make a Tour 9630 version that works? It has an integrated GPS (not assisted), other programs like GPSed work flawlessly on it, though SportyPal would be much nicer.

    • SportyPal Says:

      We will. It is simply a matter of getting the application signed, which should be done by the next update.

  2. scott Says:

    I also have the Curve 8330 sprint version and it will only record when the red led is blinking other wise it says the GPS is working yet nothing but the clock updates. When it seems to be working ti will stop with provocation…I have shut all other apps down and still nothing. I really had great hopes for this app…please some one fix it…

  3. scott Says:

    Upon further review it was just a coincidence as it happened to work when I was receiving a message and during some of my other runs/walks it did not work or only worked for about 300 yards of 1.5 miles…grrr

  4. cycle king Says:

    Hi guys,

    I seem to have got sportypal to work with my BB 8330. I was having all the same issues as everyone else and it was resolved when I downloaded and started using this theme found here – http://iowabowtech2.io.ohost.de/Precision_83xx_zen_ota/com_plazmic_theme_precision_83xx_zen.jad

    I don’t know why it works, just that it works.

  5. James Vande Woude Says:

    Hi :

    Is this still working for you? I downloaded the theme above and I am still getting connection errors when I start up sportypal. Is there something else I need to do with my 8330. this is my first GPS enabled phone and I could be the problem…

    thanks Jim

  6. Scott Says:

    The BB 8330 Curve specs say it is integrated.
    “The RIM BlackBerry Curve 8330 offers integrated GPS, Bluetooth 2.0, and EV-DO. The compact smartphone continues to offer solid messaging capabilities and includes support for a number of features that the Verizon model does not.”
    I keep trying to use it and I have at least 4 other apps that use the GPS without issue.

  7. snowmobiledog Says:

    I have the BB 8830 and am having the same issue. Anyone ever figure it out?

    I’ve tried shutting off my autostandby program and checked power settings, but nothing seems to be fixing the issue.


Leave a Reply

