Windows Mobile SportyPal 1.0.6

A new update is now online for Windows Mobile users. This is a minor update. It fixes a bug that prevents SportyPal from saving your height along with the rest of your profile info if you enter it in imperial units.

Users upgrading directly from version 1.0 should read this note.

This is an old version and is no longer available for download. You can download the newest CAB here.

Any problems starting this version once you’ve upgraded? Read this.

Explore posts in the same categories: Updates

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

54 Comments on “Windows Mobile SportyPal 1.0.6”

  1. Dex-cz Says:

    I have one question. Earlier I used version 1.0.4. Today has updated to 1.0.6. Also has noticed one trouble. I have spent precisely same training as yesterday with version 1.0.4, but the program has counted calories in 2 times less, than yesterday. Why?

    • SportyPal Says:

      Comments have to be approved before they appear.

      Anyway, what you described shouldn’t really be happening. Can you upload both of the workouts so that we can compare them?

  2. Dex-cz Says:

    Yes, certainly. You can look at it here.
    http://www.sportypal.com/Workouts?user_id=1738

    • Dex-cz Says:

      So. Yesterday I have put old version 1.0.4. Preliminary having deleted the old. Including having erased a folder \Sporty Pal\. And the program has again counted today’s training in 2 times less, than before it. I in despair. I at all do not understand why it so myself carries on.

      • SportyPal Says:

        The only way that this could make sense would be if you changed the weight field in your profile in the meantime.

  3. TaRIQ Says:

    Hi,
    Just a quick Question regarding the pictures taken during the work out?… why i can’t see those pictures in my workout.

    • SportyPal Says:

      SportyPal remembers where the pictures were taken, but otherwise does nothing with them. Future versions will allow you to upload the pictures taken during a workout.

  4. Dex-cz Says:

    Actually is not present. The weight remained former.
    After program installation always it is necessary to put the profile again. There can be in it a problem?
    And the main point – as can be corrected it?

    • SportyPal Says:

      If your weight is correct, then we can’t see a reason why there would be a discrepancy between two nearly identical workouts. Perhaps the first workout somehow got the calories wrong – especially if all subsequent workouts recorded the reduced amount of calories burnt.

      • Dex-cz Says:

        Well. Give once again.
        Here this workup showed about one thousand calories.
        http://www.sportypal.com/Workouts/Details/14223
        Next day too. On the subsequent as indicators were stable.
        http://www.sportypal.com/Workouts/Details/14451
        http://www.sportypal.com/Workouts/Details/15366
        http://www.sportypal.com/Workouts/Details/15761
        And suddenly. After program upgrade – all metrics have decreased twice. In case I would set weight hardly less, metrics could not will vary already in 2 times.
        http://www.sportypal.com/Workouts/Details/16234
        And now all is considered in 2 times less, than before it.
        About the same effect I observed, when did upgrade with 1.0 to 1.0.1 etc. But then I have not paid to this attention. Now I wish to understand, why it occurs.
        I will repeat. Speech does not go about one workout. Them was a little. And suddenly metrics became in 2 times less.

      • SportyPal Says:

        We haven’t changed the calories formula at all since releasing version 1.0, and the only variable that isn’t workout-dependent is weight. What’s more, the number of calories didn’t change when you downgraded to 1.0.4, which eliminates the possibility of us having broken anything in the new version.

        Right now, we can’t think of anything that would cause this. Is anyone else experiencing the same problem?

      • SportyPal Says:

        We just confirmed that the lower calorie counts are the ones that are correct. We still have no idea how you got the doubled amount, though…

      • Dex-cz Says:

        You wish to tell, what new quantity of calories, which in 2 times less previous the correct? And what was before it is not present?

      • SportyPal Says:

        We don’t know what caused the double value. At first we thought that the pre-1.0.5 version you used to upload the first workout messed up the distance, but then the values uploaded to the website would be very, very wrong.

      • Dex-cz Says:

        I not absolutely understand that I did not correctly. I use your program from the moment of its appearance. Always in the same way.

      • SportyPal Says:

        We don’t understand either. If it were only one workout, that’s fine, call it a freak accident. But several workouts across several versions have exhibited this, and apparently only for you.

        Seeing how we haven’t figured this out for this long, we’re guessing that the problem is something very obvious that we’re forgetting about.

  5. Mike Says:

    I haven’t really tested 1.0.6 yet (installed it a few minutes ago) but I noticed a bug. I have “Russia” in regional settings but I want Sportypal speak English to me. Once I upgraded to 1.0.6 it automatically detected and switched to Russian (which is more or less okay although I’d prefer it to keep “old” (previously installed version) settings). Well, I went to “Profile” and changed language to “English”. Now I have a weird mix of Russian and English (Russian text on menu items like “walking”, “blading” etc, English profile menu, etc.

    > Mike

    • SportyPal Says:

      That’s interesting. Does this persist if you run SportyPal without a SIM card inside the device?

      • Mike Says:

        I haven’t tried it without SIM card but I know what you mean 🙂 Here is the story: I first tried Sportypal with GSM radio on and, quite expectingly, it frozen my device within 2 minutes. I had to reboot (soft-reset), turned GSM off and started Sportypal again. Amazingly, it switched to English!

        Clearly, it’s a bug. It’s okay to auto-configure language settings the first time Sportypal is installed and started on a particular device. However, if a user upgrading their Sportypal version, or explicitly changed language in their “Profile”, you shouldn’t act upon SIM card or GSM network settings.

      • SportyPal Says:

        If only it were that simple. Here’s how language settings work in SportyPal:

        The default language settings are loaded at four points during normal operation: when the application is started, when the UI is first loaded, whenever you close the “My Profile” screen and whenever you view the records list (yes, the last one is a design flaw). Additionally, language settings are loaded if there’s a critical error.

        All of these calls work the same way: SportyPal checks to see what your language settings (the ones you saved in “My Profile”) are. If it finds them, it loads the language saved there. If it doesn’t, it tries to determine the language from your card’s subscriber code, and if it fails at that, it returns the default language, which is hardcoded to English. The saved language settings always have priority over the card/default settings, and the saved settings don’t get reset when you reinstall SportyPal.

      • Mike Says:

        “Saved language settings always have priority…” — that’s exactly what I need! However, either you have a bug in the code or I didn’t properly saved language settings. Once I upgraded to 1.0.6 I went to “My profile” settings and I had to re-enter nickname, e-mail, password, weight and height (btw, why??? It’s more natural to keep these settings from previos installation). Then I tap on “Save”, it would prompt me if I want to register e-mail address, I say “Yes” and voila, the program would talk weird language mix if GSM radio’s on. When I turn it of it does switch to English.

        So, if it’s not a bug, what did I do wrong?

  6. Ric Says:

    So i’m still running the version previous to 1.5. So will 1.6 have the same updates that 1.5 had as well? Or do I have to install 1.5 then 1.6?

  7. VinceInSeattle Says:

    What do the different colors on the workout map indicate? Blue is obviously the primary color – what are green and red?

  8. Amthonie Says:

    I upgraded yesterday from 1.0.5 to 1.0.6 because I hoped it would by accidend correct the bug on WVGA screens that it keeps occupying the top screen when changing to other apps. I just installed the new one over the old one. At first boot it asked me to reregister. I entered the same nick, email and password. When I log in now on the website I see only my workout of today, not the two before. The funny thing is when I go to the ‘community’ I still can see my workout of yesterday and the day before, with my nick and picture but they don’t seem to be connected no more to my account…

    • SportyPal Says:

      Try tapping near the top of the screen before switching to another app, that could solve the top screen problem.

      As for the workouts, unless someone really, really messed something up with the website, there is absolutely no way that a new registration could dissociate your workouts from your account. We’ll look into it first thing in the morning.


  9. sorry for my bad english.

    i’m still using 1.0.5. there’s one question about the date problem.

    in the workout page, the date is displayed one day back rather than the actual date. but in the detail view, the date shown correctly.

    i was looking for time zone setting whether it may be the source of problem but none i can find in the profile or the rest of the site.

    can you help to fix this problem? thank you.

    ps: i am soooooo happy with your software. i’m looking forward to write it in my blog [bahasa indonesia though]. keep up the good work, pal!

  10. sleek Says:

    Had noted a couple of discrepancies on the latest workout – http://sportypal.com/Workouts/Details/17665 :-
    1. The Workout Graph on the PDA & Website is different – PDA shows no more than 10.3km/h but Website is 12.5km/h
    2. The Vel is not correct as 11km/h is shown as 6:27mins/km

    • SportyPal Says:

      1. The graphs work by splitting the workout into segments and showing an average value for each segment. Due to its limited resources, the device app always splits the workouts into ten segments, while the number of segments shown on the website depends on the size of the workout itself. Therefore, the 12.5 km/h shown on the site might’ve been averaged to 10.3 km/h on the device.

      2. Can you give us a link to a workout where your average pace and average speed values do not coincide?

      • sleek Says:

        Ok, that’s on the workout no. 17665 as posted above.

      • SportyPal Says:

        That one seems fine to us. 126 minutes over 21.63 km come to about 5:50 min/km. What formula do you use to calculate pace?

      • sleek Says:

        Was referring to the VEL Graph which shows 11km/h as 6:27mins/km, when it should be 5:27mins/km?

      • SportyPal Says:

        You’re right, that does seem to be inconsistent. We’ll look into it.

  11. Fazz Says:

    On the calories count. The system does not seem to take into account elevation gain in figuring the calories? For instances, my last 2 “workouts” were up and down a 3700ft elevation gain canyon, up at 8mph down at 40.

    There is NO WAY I spent the same amount of calories both directions. Same problem while MTB. On my Garmin 301 I can’t remember if it keeps track of that or not as I us it primarily for running.(SP had 727 cals, but calculating using my own reference materials that should be closer to 2375 cals at 19cal per minute for hard effort)

    Is there as way to gauge the “effort” to adjust the amount of cals per minute or pace? This might be able to be done mathematically by accounting for altitude gain/loss. Also the cals per “speed” differs on a MTB.

  12. Evan Says:

    So far 1.0.6 seems to be the best release yet. Can’t wait for the photo tagging upload on the map to work. Any anticipated implementation date?

  13. john gosling Says:

    Hardware button works great on diamond………..but can I suggest that pause is highlighted (in red) as default when the program is running.
    It a bit hard to push pause when your running and I keep missing it

  14. Evan Says:

    A couple of minor issues. In this workout http://www.sportypal.com/Workouts/Details/20929 I tried the pause function while getting a car shuttle in the middle of my mountain bike ride. It shows up accurately as the middle segment when doing manual analyze, but it doesn’t really show the pause very well in normal mode. Just thought I’d mention it.

    Also, I’m still having issues using the photo mode.

    First of all, it only seems to take one picture per location, the second one will overwrite the first.

    Second, why can I not change the size to use full 3.2mp of the camera, just large (which is much poorer resolution).

    Third, and perhaps most important, no coordinates seem to be associated with the picture. I see a place for lattitude and longitude in hp photosmart picture properties, but they’re all zeros, no gps coordinates! Where are they stored?

    thanx!

    • SportyPal Says:

      The paused segments are mostly ignored, you just get a green line connecting the last two coordinates.

      We’ll look into the photo issues. The coordinates for the photos are stored internally by SportyPal, they’re not embedded in the image.

  15. pista Says:

    I use sporty pal on my HTC touch hd, but i have problems with recording of my workouts during the automatic sleep of the phone.
    http://www.sportypal.com/Workouts/Details/25312
    here is the result 😦
    I started the workout home, made a rest in the middle and came back with sligtly different track. but as you can see, there is just air line between start and turning point.
    any advice? thank you very much

    • SportyPal Says:

      You could turn off auto-sleep for the duration of the workout. SportyPal will automatically turn off the monitor to save battery life.

      • pista Says:

        unfortunately, there is no possibility to turn of the automatic sleep :-/ but I got an advice from one user of sportypal with touch hd. i´ll test his advice and write about the result. it may help some HTC touch HD users who have the same problem as me.

      • pista Says:

        so i tested it. there is one very important thing – user can´t use hardware button for sleep when sportypal is running.
        i do it like this:
        start sportypal
        select workout

        START
        and now I either wait till sportypal manages the sleep itself (few seconds) OR i hit hardware button with HOME logo and then press hardware button of sleep.
        problem is only when the device is turned to sleep with button during opened aplication running on screen.
        so either go to start menu of phone with HOME button and than use hardware sleep button OR wait till sportypal start sleep by self.
        good luck

  16. stbolshakov Says:

    First of all I would like to thank you for such a great software, which is free. Also I would like to excuse for my poor english.

    Anyway, I have an issue with sportypal.
    I’m using HTC Diamond, 2.03 official russian firmware.
    When I have my headphones connected sportypal works just fine. If I disconnect them – it stops working when I’m turning device backlight off. Do you have any solutions mate?

    Also, I saw that there are some articles about sportypal in your blog. If you’d like you can add russian one – http://twistedminds.ru/blog/2009/07/sportypal/

  17. Evan Says:

    This version has been working well for me, one suggested enhancement would be to include a continue or append option for workouts for when you need to change the battery. My battery often dies on long mountain bike rides or hikes and I’d really like to be able to have the entire workout displayed as one after uploading.

  18. Phil B Says:

    Hi
    Really like the software, just a couple of questions

    1 – Is it possible to see my runs in Miles rather than KM

    and 2 – On my maps i have red sections that dont seem to make sence just as i start my run. nay way to cure this ?

    Thanks.

    Phil

    • SportyPal Says:

      1 – You can set your unit system preferences in “My Profile”, both at the site and on the device application.

      2 – We don’t know what’s causing it. It seems that you get a bunch of wrong coordinates at startup. Try making a short workout while standing in place when you first start SportyPal, one that you’ll delete, and then make a real one. Maybe that’ll give your device some time to get a decent fix before your workout starts.


Leave a Reply

