BlackBerry connectivity issues

As we’re sure you’ve noticed, the BlackBerry version beta of SportyPal has trouble connecting to the website via GPRS. This was the main reason why we decided to release the beta version: so that we could see if anyone would manage to get it working without WLAN. So far, either no one’s gotten it to work, or they’re keeping to themselves.

Petar suggests that BlackBerry users should try setting up a TCP connection and using that to connect to the Internet. Here are some links with more information on how you can do this:

BlackBerry TCP settings on WikiAnswers
Full Internet access on BlackBerry forums
BlackBerry configuration on QuickIM’s forums

Let us know if any of this works for you.

Explore posts in the same categories: Bugs, Q & A, Unresolved

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

11 Comments on “BlackBerry connectivity issues”

  1. Don Says:

    I am starting my training for my first ever half-marathon and I have been looking for a training monitor for my BlackBerry curve. I tested it a couple of times. What I noticed is that it stops recording after a certain distance. I’m not sure what it is. There is no specific distance. I just notice it when I stop and review the log.

    Does the application stop automatically when it loses GPS signal? Does it automatically reconnect and resume recording information? Is there an audible alert when it loses GPS signal? If none, is this feature going to be added anytime soon?

  2. SportyPal Says:

    This seems to be an issue that’s specific to the Curve 8330 series. We’re still trying to find out what’s causing it.

  3. Gareth Says:

    I have been experiencing connectivity issues on a Bold over 3G and GPRS. WiFi seemed to work though.

  4. Stef Says:

    I have been experiencing the same connectivity issues on a 8310 curve. Tryed to set up the TCP setting as recommended, to no use. Please address this issue, this is an app I have been waiting for..

  5. Alec Says:

    I can’t connect over 3G or GPRS but WiFi works fine.

  6. Adad Says:

    I’ve not been able to connect on my bold. Wifi is not allowed because of the corporate IT policy. My TCP setting is right and gprs connection work for other applications but sportypal.

    • Mike Says:

      My TCP is also set, other applications work great. WIFI not an option because I’m using SportyPal on a Pearl with external GPS (Garmin 10) The rest of the program works well, but I wish I could login – I have registered on the website since I kept receiving ‘connection error’ on the app on the blackberry. Still, pretty cool!

  7. AM Says:

    I’ve not been able to connect on my Curve. No wifi available on it, and my TCP APN etc are correct. Sportypal might need to use a signed API to be able to use the EDGE/GPRS network.

  8. errr Says:

    TCP setting is correct and even called Rogers Wireless,other apps work with the setting but sportypal does not connect

  9. KRTaylor Says:

    I always get a “Connection Error” with my 8110 Blackberry Pearl. The TCP is set, I have unlimited data, and my browser works as well as almost every application I have tried.

  10. Steven Says:

    Same error on Bold.

    FIX – I disconnected from Mobile network (just running Wifi).

    Then uploads fine.


Leave a Reply

